What Nick Saban can teach you about writing

A while ago, I was sitting in the back row of another corporate seminar, certain I was about to waste the day.

I can’t even remember what this one was called. It had something to do with leadership, something to do with communication and something to do with creativity. Perhaps the theme was how to unlock creativity, or how leaders can tap into the creativity of their teams.

As I’ve said before, these kinds of things are usually hogwash because, when it comes right down to it, nobody can tell anyone else how to unlock their creativity. It’s all guesswork. What works for one person may not work for another. I listen to music on some nights. I drink beer on others. I do both on many. Sometimes one works, sometimes the other does and sometimes no amount of IPA or background music will do the trick.

Anyway. I’m getting ahead of myself. The first five minutes of this leadership telecast featured a stand-up comedian who somehow went from clowns to Santa Claus to Nazis in about 75 seconds. I turned to the person next to me, a doctor who looked as perplexed as I felt, and then settled in. I didn’t have high hopes.

Then Nick Saban showed up.

For those who don’t know, Nick Saban is the head coach of the University of Alabama football team, the Crimson Tide, one of the winningest coaches in college football history. He was on stage to talk about clarity in leadership, but the simple lesson he had applies not just to football or leadership or writing, but to life in general.

He said the first time he meets with recruits, he asks them what they want to get out of his program.

“All I’ve got to get them to say is ‘I want to graduate college and I want to play in the NFL some day,'” he said, “and I’ve got them.  I’ve got them, because then I can go back and hold them to those goals: You skipping study hall today? How’s that going to help you graduate college? You gave up a little early on the play, didn’t you? How will that help you get to the NFL?”

Simple. Clear. Accountable. Allow people to set their goals, and then remind them what those goals were. It works in the business world, it works in life–and it works in writing. The only difference there is that you have to set your own goals and you have to hold yourself accountable.

That’s where most beginning writers fail. God knows, it’s where I fail. A simple look back at this blog will provide enough evidence of that. My goal is to write something every week, but things always get in the way. Or rather, I let them get in the way.

So I don’t know if this will work for you. I’m going to try it, as I resolve–once again–to get back into a regular writing rhythm and try to get some things accomplished. I’m going to ask myself what I want: to finish a short story each month, to research, outline and write a novel this year. Then I’ll hold myself accountable.

I will remind myself: watching The Fifth Element for a 32nd time? How’s that going to help you get that story done? Turn off the alarm, stuff the phone under a pillow, and go back to sleep for three hours? How’s that going to help on your research? Scrolling through your social media feed for hours on end? How will that help you complete an outline?

And so on.

Writing is not easy, even in a perfect world. Most of us, particularly beginners, don’t have the luxury of a lot of writing time. Between day jobs, chores, paying bills, family obligations and more, we’re lucky to have any time at all. It’s important to use what little is left.

And if you don’t…ask yourself why and how it will help you get where you want to go. It’s what Nick Saban would do.

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “What Nick Saban can teach you about writing

  1. Pingback: Program your mind for writing success | Scott Spielman

Leave a comment